The fishy dress

IMG_3721My little one, Z., LOVES dresses! But not just any dress. No, she wants the “other” dress. So every morning, our conversation goes something like this:

Z.: Mommy, I want to wear a dress.

Me: Okay, let’s see what we’ve got in your closet.

Z: No, I want another dress.

Me: I haven’t even taken out a dress yet. (proceeds to take out a dress) Look, how pretty, do you want to wear this?

Z: No, I want another dress.

Me: (pulls out another dress) How about this one, look, it’s so pretty, it has a bow on it!

Z: No, I want another dress.

After a bit of trying to convince her, I go over to the laundry basket and show her every clean dress in it.

Z: No, I want another dress.

At this point, I usually force her to wear whatever I have in my hand. There is crying. And in the end, she puts on her “princess dress” and fairy wings and runs around in them all day.

IMG_3742

After a few weeks of these arguments, I decided to sew her up some dresses that she could wear around the house. I know they love it when I make them stuff, it is just more special. So last time we were “down south” (can’t really talk about a south in Manitoba), I scored some matching pillow cases at the thrift store for that purpose. It just so happened that I found this fishy fabric at Walmart for like $4, and, look at that, they match! She loved the fish fabric (always gotta make sure she pics at least one of the fabrics), so off I went to make her a dress. I used the Sweet Dress pattern from The Cottage Mama in its most simple form. After all, this was supposed to be a super simple dress that she could get dirty without me wincing. It came together super quick and I have to say, it turned out pretty cute!

She is in love with it, because it is mama-made, and I am, too, because it is thrifty. (And because I get tired of the princess dress and fairy wings). AND, I even have some fabric left for more dresses like these, which I need, because, surprise, this one got dirty… It was hard to convince her that it had to be washed. But, hey, I kept it clean just long enough to take these pictures! That’s a win, right!

IMG_3712
She always needs to carry the sand toys. 🙂

It wasn’t a sunny day, but it was finally warm and windy so we made it to the beach for a bit.

Fun Fact about northern Manitoba: The Sand flies up here are definitely something to get used to… If it isn’t windy, they will eat you alive! It is pure madness! On a positive note, the indoor time gives me lots of opportunities to crochet and sew before this baby comes 🙂

Have a great day lovelies and see you soon!

Emma

3 thoughts on “The fishy dress

  1. The fabrics matched perfectly! I have several friends with little girls and I want to start turning my dress fabric remnants into dresses for them. Love the look of this pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

